Phone:(314) 400-8234

Email: midwesterndistrictcouncil12stl@gmail.com

Calendar

Oct
10
Mon
I.M.C.W.A. Virtual Empowerment Academy Fall 2022
Oct 10 – Oct 24 all-day

IMCWA Virtual Empowerment Academy

October 2022 Seminar Descriptions

 

Individual Registration

Personal Financial Preparedness for the 21st Century Woman: Instructor: Cryshonda Gilkes

This course is designed to explain how different aspects of personal finance can be managed and provide resources for making financial decisions. Topics to be explored include understanding how financial decisions are made, calculating net worth, consumer credit, understanding credit reports, bankruptcy, housing, taxes, insurance, investments, banking, and budgeting. Seminar Dates: Monday Oct 10,17,24 6:30-7:30 ET/5:30-6:30 CT/4:30-5:30 MT/3:30-4:30 PT

 

Surviving the Process and Living Through Grief: Instructor: Sherice Benjamin

This course will explain grief concepts by walking through the stages of grief. This training is set to provide tools for healing, restoration, and the impact of losing loved ones, employment, divorce, home, and ministry. This training is set to prepare individuals in ministry interested in forming a grief support group. Seminar Dates: Tuesday Oct 11,18,25 8:00-9:15 ET/7:00-8:15 CT/6:00-7:15 MT/5:00-6:15 PT                    

 

Emotional Intelligence from a Biblical Perspective: Instructor: Dr. Tara Phelps-Jones

Emotional Intelligence (EQ) is the ability to recognize and understand emotions and your skill at using this awareness to manage yourself and your relationship with others. This high impact course combines team activities, movie clips, assessments, and participation to create a fun and inviting environment for sharing and learning. Discover what EQ is and just how important it is in determining success in all facets of life. Discover the 4 EQ Skills – Self-Awareness, Self-Management, Social Awareness, and Relationship Management.  Seminar Dates: Tuesday Oct 11,18,25 6:30-7:45 ET/5:30-6:45 CT/4:30-5:45 MT/3:30-4:45 PT

 

Adult Mental Health First Aid Certification: Instructor: Melodi Parker

Just as CPR helps you assist an individual having a heart attack, Mental Health First Aid helps you assist someone experiencing a mental health or substance use-related crisis. In the Mental Health First Aid course, you learn risk factors and warning signs for mental health and addiction concerns, strategies for how to help someone in both crisis and non-crisis situations, and where to turn for help. This course will be 2 hours per week and meet for 4 weeks. Students will receive an official certification. An additional $28.95 will be assessed which includes a workbook and certification.                                                                       Seminar Date: Saturday Oct. 22 9:00 AM-5:00 PM

 

Divorce Proofing Your Marriage: Instructor: Evangelist, Dr. Karen Green, LPCC-S.

You may be surprised to know that Christians fare no better than non-Christians with respect to divorce.  Experts say that all marriages could use a little help!  Whether your marriage is new, needs an oil change, tune up or engine overhaul, you will learn the How Tos – conversations and activities to engage in – that will keep the love fires burning and help you have a happy and God honoring marriage.  Karen Green is an experienced marriage and family counselor, marriage enrichment educator, nationally recognized speaker, and professor.   First Lady Green has been happily married for twenty-seven years to District Elder Vernon Green. They co-chair the MWDDC District Marriage Enrichment Auxiliary and have two delightful grandchildren.  This seminar will be interactive, have handouts, and videoclips.                                              Seminar Dates: Thursday October 13, 20, 27- 7:00-8:30 ET/6:00-7:30 CT/5:00-6:30 MT/4:00-5:30 PT                           

 

Ministry Development: Instructor: District Elder Nancy Branch

I would that you were hot or cold – not lukewarm! The goal of this course, “Ministry Development,” is to ignite the ministry embers on the inside of you, discuss the areas of ministry that you have discerned to be needful for the body of Christ, and tap into ways to meet those needs. It is also hoped that this training will enable the participant to further develop and stir up the gifts within them by brainstorming and creating a list of needed ministries for this COVID-19 stricken war zone; thereby, developing oneself as well as moving into the critical phase of developing others. Seminar Dates: Monday October 10, 17, 24- 8:00-9:15 ET/7:00-8:15 CT/6:00-7:15 MT/5:00-6:15 PT       

                    

Oct
14
Fri
Bishop Illona W. Dickson Pastoral Anniversary
Oct 14 @ 7:00 pm – 9:00 pm
Oct
16
Sun
Bishop Illona W. Dickson Pastoral Anniversary
Oct 16 @ 11:00 am – 1:00 pm
Nov
8
Tue
MDC Fall Conference @ Virtual
Nov 8 – Nov 12 all-day